Your Watercolour Paintings 3 landscape sketches

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Annette 3 months ago.

• Author

Agathe
    Participant
    10 pts

Oookay, so today’s goal was to get out of my comfort zone and try something I’m not very good at: Landscapes! There are tons of issues here (and the photo makes the paintings look a little darker than they really are), like my clouds, my skies, overworking things I should have left alone, going too dark and leaving few light washes etc. However, what I feel is my main frustration when I paint, is my struggle to choose colors that go well together. In my opinion, a painting can look gorgeous with colors that convey a certain atmosphere, even if it’s not technically very good. To hopefully help with this, I have ordered some new paints and will change my palette around a bit. I’ll be taking out some of the colors that I’m not too fond of, and add some new ones that I hope will inspire me to explore new combinations.

For the past few weeks I’ve been focusing more on my drawing skills and little on the painting part. I have learnt a lot and come a long way from where I started. But I feel the time has come to play with color again!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • #96411 Score: 0

Patricia L
    Participant
    6 pts

I really like these Agathe. The two on separate paper are my favourites. In the top one I like how you’ve handled the foreground and mid ground grasses and in the bottom one, there is so much to enjoy. I love the gradation of coulour toward the background. Have you scraped out some of the foreground growth? (Both paintings)  It certainly works, if you have. And the perspective on the path creates such an invitation. I like your use of shadow. I’ll look forward to hearing about your new colours.

Thanks for sharing!

• #96412 Score: 0

Agathe
    Participant
    10 pts